Day 3 of Boots N All’s 30 Days of Indie Travel – Topic: Music

Music and travel memories often go hand in hand. A song can inspire our explorations, or it can take us back to a specific place and time. Tell us about your travel playlist and what it means to you

First song on my travel playlist is Creedence Clearwater Revival’s “Long as I can see the Light”. It’s wistful sounding, echoing the homesickness many travelers feel while on the road for awhile but yet “I’ve got that old travelin bone”. I think I could listen to this in almost any situation, in any country and it would fit perfectly. It speaks of the longing and desire for home but makes you feel the open road is the place to be.

Next song on the playlist is probably on a lot of peoples’ playlists. It’s Paul Simon’s “Me & Julio Down By The Schoolyard”. I picked this aside from the fact it’s catchy solely for the line “I’m on my way, I don’t know where I’m goin..” To me that epitomizes the style of travel I long to achieve one day. The freedom of just a backpack and no schedule is so alluring.

After that is a song called “Una Calle De Paris” by Duncan Dhu. It’s a song sung in Spanish about a street in Paris. It’s hard to get immersed on the essence of travel not listening to a song like this. Especially if you’re an English speaker, being overseas challenges your ears. I just love that this takes a foreign language describing another foreign place and doubles up on the strangness.

Next in line is Manu Chao’s “Clandestino”. More or less it describes the life of people who’ve left their native city in search of a better life. While this may not be directly correlated to traveling as we think of it, in a way when we all leave our country, we’re searching for something if not better at least different. I don’t know if as travelers we’re looking to escape from something, whether it be normal life, emotional turmoil or aimlessness, we all find the sae potential answer in being somewhere unfamiliar.

One of my favorite travel songs is Minus The Bear’s song “Absinthe Party At The Fly Honey Warehouse”. Don’t let the title throw you off, this song is purely, explicitly about traveling. From the first line “Hey, let’s cross the sea and get some culture, red wine with every meal and absinthe after dinner” to the catchy anthemic chorus of “We’ve got to get something to eat and to drink and find a place to stay that’s not too far of the main way”. This whole song describes the kind of travel that I find myself doing year after year after year. “Sit on a park bench that’s older than my country”. For me this song sums up the travel experience.

Another Minus The Bear Song is on my list, this one is called Pachuca Sunrise. What I love about this song is the intimate description of being somewhere seeing something amazing and not being able to share it with the person that you wish you could. I’ve been there, I’ve been in the main square in Brussels when the lights and music hit, or on the ferry from Dover to Calais, or walking alone by the Seine on a summer afternoon and wished that experience could be shared. “Midnight on a beach in the Mediterranean and I miss you, even here taking it all in”. This one hits so close to home it’s scary.

To keep this short I’ll stop at Kenny Roger’s “The Gambler”. I’m not sure why this is on my playlist. Maybe because it takes place in a boxcar traveling down the rails among characters who know nothing but travel. Then again every time you take a trip it’s a gamble. You hope things will work out, you meet people who give you solid advice. Then again the lyrics could be right out of a travel guide “You got to know when to hold em,  know when to fold em, know when to walk away and know when to run”.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

