City – Day 15 of the 30 Days of Indie Travel Project

What is your favorite (or least favorite) city and what do you love (or hate) about it?

Wow, this is like asking your absolute favorite song or favorite flavor of gelato. Most all cities have some sort of postive charm, even if that charm manifests itself in bleakness or sketchiness. Some cities have both things I love and hate about them.

London for example is a great city with a lot to see and do…….so long as you have the money. I lived in London for a brief stint and loved it, I had a good time on subsequent visits but trying to budget travel there tests your wallet and for that reason it’s not one of my favorite places to visit. Riga, Latvia was one of the most depressing looking cities I visited on my trip to Eastern Europe and ranks up there in my least favorite places. No one looked happy, and the post Soviet depression was evident in the run down buildings and dreariness. Then again maybe it was because we went in November.

As for favorites, I always have a soft spot in my heart for Granada, Spain and the Andalucia region. I haven’t been back in many years and from what I’ve heard it’s lot more crowded and lost some of the charm it had 10 years ago. Regardless, I love looking at the Alhambra at night, or hanging out on the Cathedral steps with a bottle of wine and listening to the street musicians. Wandering through the twisting hilly streets and alleys of the Albacin and stumbling into one of the many miradores was always an adventure. Hitting the tapas bars for happy hour on Calle Eshavira and getting free food while getting drunk cannot be underestimated. Granada has been my favorite because it’s tied to so many good memories from long ago.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

