Quote – Day 14 of the 30 Days of Indie Travel Project

What’s your favorite quote about travel? Why does it stand out to you?

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

One of the things I usually hear from relatives, friends and co workers after I get back from a trip tends to be a variation of “I wish I could..”  or “I wish I had done that at your age” or “I’ll do that when I have the time/money”. Every time I always think to myself..well you can, anyone can do this, it’s really not that hard. It’s sad to think of people who really could travel abroad and want to are just too cautious or afraid to take that chance. Sure traveling is a gamble, but so is everything in life that’s worth anything.

The Mark Twain quote for me really distills the essence of why I travel as much as I do and try to see as much as I can. I don’t want to be that person who looks back on a life spent in the daily grind with no extraordinary bright spots and be disappointed. Why spend your life filling a house with things that can easily be stolen or lost in a disaster. Nothing short of brain damage or Alzheimer’s can take your memories of the life you have, so why waste your time not taking chances and following your dreams of travel. If I get so old I can barely move out of my rocker I want to able to think back to the time when I climbed all the stairs up to Macchupichu or jumped off a waterfall in Costa Rica.

If you never fail then you’ve never taken a risk. Things don’t always work out but if you at least try and take a chance then you won’t wake up years down the road wondering…..what if?

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

