Passion – Day 17 of the 30 Days of Indie Travel Project

It’s easy to be passionate about travel, but does that passion permeate the rest of your life? Do you live and work with passion? Why or why not?

I wish I could say that I did live my life with the same passion that I have for traveling. I work a job that while most of the time I don’t hate it, more often than not I don’t ever wake up looking forward to going in. It’s a well paying job with a good company and for someone who didn’t finish college I have a pretty good situation so it almost seems arrogant to throw that away cause I’m not passionate about it. To be honest I’m not sure what I’d do for work that I’d be passionate about. I also DJ at a nightclub and while I like it, and it’s fun and I do look forward to going it I don’t know that I’d say it’s my passion.

To me passion implies something you have to do, something you can’t imagine your life without, something you think about almost every day and all other events are just precursors to the time when you can indulge your passion. I like a lot of things, music, dancing, playing instruments, reading for example but maybe it’s sad to say that non of those things are a passion per se, not at least the way most people would thing of it. While I can’t imagine not doing any of those things in the course of my life I can go months without dancing or playing guitar and not feel like I’m missing something.

I wish I could find a passion, I used to have a lot of it when I was in high school, when I had the time to do nothing but the things that I was interested and I guess I’ve fallen into the grown up trap of a good job, a mortgage and moderate responsibility. I’m hoping that somehow on the RTW trip that I’ll be doing something will happen, something will spark. That’s not my reason for taking the trip, I’m not one of those people who are running from something or trying to find myself but who knows, maybe on the road I’ll rediscover what I somehow lost along the way from 16 until now.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

