Drink – Day 20 of the 30 Days of Indie Travel Project

Just as the cuisine of a place reveals clues about its culture and history, so does its signature local drink. What’s the best drink you had on the road, and did the drink have any connection to the place where you drank it or the people you drank with?

I always make it a point to try to local booze, Pisco Sours in Peru, Vana Tallinn in Estonia, Slivovice in Czech Republic, and the list goes on. This is outside of the fantastic beers I’ve had in places like Germany, Belgium, etc. I’ve found that a culture that doesn’t have it’s own drink and ways of imbibing is a culture where I’ll be going to bed very early and possibly bored. Now that’s not to say that the only thing to do while traveling but let’s face it for some people (myself included) it helps overcome shyness a bit and provides a readily available social atmosphere.

One of the best drinks I’ve had on the road was in Brugges, Belgium. I should clarify by saying this was the best beer I’ve had while traveling. My friend and I had stopped at a canal side restaurant for brunch and ordered their local weissbeer. I wish I could describe it in a way other than amazing. It was balanced with the right amount of spice, carbonation and clarity that every sip was like the first. So much so that before our food even came we were on to a second half liter, that’s how easy these went down. Needless to say after brunch we spent the rest of the afternoon tipsily walking around Brugges’ canals and immensely enjoying the kind of peace that comes with a full belly, beautiful surroundings and the right amount of a tasty local adult beverage.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

